RSS Feed

A New Sewing Machine!

Posted on

It’s here! After much deliberation and reading of reviews I bought myself a Singer Stylist 7258.
Me & My new machine
I was worried about getting a “fancy” machine with stitches I wouldn’t use, but I think I found a good one that is practical and basic enough for my sewing needs and likes, but also with nice features which I may or may not use. Will I use all 100 stitches? No. But I might use some of them and had fun trying them out.
IMG_1273

My big worries about fancy automatic threading were unfounded as you can a)manually thread it yourself if you like and b)when doing so it is exactly like my old machine. My other big worry was re: bobbins. I had to concede this point and buy a machine that uses a specific type of bobbin rendering the dozens I have useless and necessitating buying all new ones (fortunately they are also cheap.)

I settled in yesterday to actually using it and it was very comfortable. It has two simple features that I like and make a difference to me: a clearly delineated 1/4″ seam allowance on the machine and a switch to choose if you want the needle to end up or down. Thus armed I sewed together the quilt top for the baby quilt I’m making. i even treated myself to new pins for the event.
Pretty pins
The quilt is adorable if I say so myself.
in progress
I was even able to put together the backing today in a very serendipitous way. I was looking in the basement to see if I could find muslinfor the backing. I did not, but instead eyed the bin of fabrics that a lady at church had given me. I had kind of forgotten about it to tell you the truth. I brought it up and what should I find but a couple yards of beautiful marbled lavender fabric! It was part of a set of some other fabrics that went with a specific quilt pattern (it was all together) but since I’m not making that and the fabric is mine to do with what I want, there you go. See? Having a big fabric stash is very useful.

In knitting news the tendonitis went away and I’m still enjoying being able to add a row or two at a time. I’m quite pleased with what I’ve got so far. I had an “a-ha!” moment looking at the yarn in Michaels and realizing that a yarn shop to knitters is like a fabric store to me-filled with potential and beautiful tempting things you might by without a project even in mind.  I’d never realized before how many beautiful different kinds of yarn there are (and please, I was only in Michaels, not even a fancy shop) and found myself touching the yarns and wondering what could be made with them. And look-I was at the library today and recalled that I was recommended other books by an author I’d just read and it’s a knitting club cozy book.
Knitting Progress
Isn’t it funny how once you have something in your mind you start to see it everywhere? I was getting my hair cut today and a customer was advising someone on repairing a beautiful crocheted blanket.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. New machine happy face! I looked at a 60’s model tabletop singer today.

    Reply
  2. Congratulations on your new machine! I finally sat down at my sewing table and made something yesterday, for the first time in weeks. Now I’m feeling that inspiration you’re talking about!

    Reply
  3. Enjoy! will the sewing machine get a name? 🙂

    Reply
    • Although I’ve always wanted to be someone who named her car, sewing machine, etc., I never seem to. So I guess it’ll just be The Sewing Machine 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

