RSS Feed

A Baby Quilt For Meredith

Posted on

My cousin had a baby girl, Meredith, on December 30. I knew I wanted to make a sweet baby quilt for her and decided on a simple design of a 9-patch of appliqued hearts.  I bought three different fabrics for the hearts and a background fabric. I wanted a purple palette and love the cheerful prints I picked.  After the baby was born I figured I’d better get working on it, and this is actually the first thing I made on my new sewing machine.  Each of the 9 blocks has a large heart hand appliequed to it. I then used embroidery floss to do decorative stitching around the border of each.
New year, new quilt for a new baby
On to deciding how to put them together.
New year, new quilt for a new baby
It turned out that I had in my stash a beautiful piece of purple and white gingham that was just right for sashing.  A little purple square at the four corners of the center and it was just right.  As for that center block, I embroidered the baby’s name across it.  A dark purple border wrapped up the top nicely.
Heart Baby Quilt-Finished!
As for the backing I was thrilled to look in a bin of fabrics someone gave me a year ago and discover a couple yards of a beautiful lilac that was perfect.  I added a stripe of my favorite turquoise polka dot.
Heart Baby Quilt-Finished!
As for quilting it is a tied quilt. I opted to go for a thread that wouldn’t contrast and did the same pattern in each block.

I love how this came out.
Heart Baby Quilt-Finished!
I think it’s not too babyish and hopefully she’ll love it as a little girl, too.  For now, look how teeny tiny she is on it!
Baby quilt
Welcome, Meredith!
Baby quilt

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. Awe cute baby! And the quilt is beautiful!

    Reply
  2. brilliant idea … will be treasured for years to come 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

