RSS Feed

A New Look

Posted on

Before:2015-05-04 19.18.17

After:IMG_2761

This morning we had the spruce tree next to our house removed. I had a moment of “oh no!” as they started cutting it down and I sentimentally remembered that not only have we taken countless photos with that tree as a background, but also my wedding pictures. I guess the fact that back then it made a lovely blue-green background of lush needles and now it…wouldn’t, should serve as an indication that this tree was not really doing us any favors.  They took it down very quickly and efficiently and neatly.  One guy climbed the trunk whilst chainsawing branches off, another guy hooked a cable to the fallen branches, and a third guy operated the chipper, feeding the fallen branches into it (via the mechanical cable.)IMG_2759

It really is a whole new look for the house. For example, though I knew it was a farmhouse with an original 2 story square with additions on either end, that is now super obvious. Look at those boxes on the end! And also, very clear how different the windows are in the two additions.  I also hadn’t realized how much the nice oak tree was hidden by the spruce.  The family room seems much brighter without the tree in front of it. I’m excited to think about what me might do there. As long as it has color and doesn’t go above the windows I think I’ll be happy. This means we’ll also be able to better mow this area and really do something with it. For now I just moved one of the birdfeeders to the empty spot to make up for the fact that I’ve taken away what was clearly a favorite place for them to roost and sing (this treetop was next to my bedroom window, so I often was awoken by them.) So, farewell tree. You were lovely, but your time had come.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

