RSS Feed

How Does Your Garden Grow?

Posted on

Simple FlowersNormally at this time of the year my Flickr stream and blog would be filled with photos of large zucchini, ripening tomatoes, and so on.  I’m afraid that this year that’s not happening. The garden is…not really a garden. And you know what? I’m ok with that. If I live a nice long life it’s ok if one summer I let it all turn into a mess. As you might know, I have been waging a constant battle against the mugwort and morning glory in our fenced, raised bed garden (which should be free of all that nonsense, but is not.) I ended up only putting in 1 cucumber plant, a couple pepper plants, and a couple tomato plants.  The spring lettuce was great, but I left it in there when we were done eating  most of it and now it’s 4 feet tall and flowering beautifully. The small white butterflies like it. flowering 4ft tall lettuces
The peas had a big crop, but I didn’t love them that much and ended up leaving most of them on the vine-and consequently leaving the whole plants in.  I’ve got some huge herb plants and the warning that catnip might take over is proving true. So I do have some good herbs I can get to, and there are actually some tomatoes and 1 pepper in there. But beyond that I’ve allowed the insane rogue morning glories to take over.  I’m kind of looking forward to seeing it when it blooms. And next year we might even do a full start over.
the jungle, ahem, garden.As for the flower garden my mailbox garden is a disappointment compared to years past, and my little L-shaped annuals garden is cheerfully blooming, though not as dense as I would have liked. The butterfly garden needs some serious attention. Apparently I will never be able to keep lavender, as it consistently dies. I need to add some more perennials and remulch the whole thing.  At the garden center this week I decided to go ahead and get a few things that weren’t necessarily butterfly attractors. I just wanted some color and some things to take up space. 25% off big blooming rose bushes? Yes, please. So now I’ve got that to add, plus some blanket flower that I’ve always wanted. I was also pleased they had some cleome for sale in the annuals. I’ve always admired this kind of old-fashioned cottage garden flower but have only ever seen it in seed packets.  It’s a big self seeder so I hope it continues to come back. Cleome
Meanwhile the coneflower are lush and colorful and the bees and butterflies love them. No sign of any monarchs yet, but I do hope they’ll come. Of course, the aphids are all over the milkweed again, so I’m not sure how well the plant will do.

In the chicken coop it’s the same story as in summers past–broody hens in the nesting box, two in there together, things probably won’t end well.
2015 Coop nonsense I am keeping fingers crossed for them, though.  They are due to hatch tomorrow or the next day. You know I’ll be running out to listen for peeps!

Willow continues to delight and tire us.  She really hates being left alone, whether it’s in the crate or downstairs while we’re upstairs, and barks loud and long when she is.  I’ll tell you with a bit of pleasure that she seems really attached to me and I love it when she sees me in the morning and just wants to sit in my lap and be with me. It’s been two weeks today since we’ve had her and I swear she looks bigger already! The cats are getting used to her and Liesl is occasionally going up to Willow to check her out.  Her kennel cough is gone and housetraining is going really well.

Lap love

Clark & WillowWe’ve taken her twice to the field where I used to walk Pippin and she liked it very much. Tabby walking Willow
The meadow is beautiful in the summer and it was so nice to be back there with a dog again.
Willow & Me (still a novelty to me to be able to just pick her up and hold her like a baby)Gordon & Willow

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. I have come to the conclusion that some years are like this in the garden! I think it’s just part of the cycle. Of course I’m currently in a year of not knowing what to do yet, so I’m still pleased to see that you have such a lot of things growing! I’m so happy for you with Willow, also – she seems like a great dog!

    Reply
  2. I love that you have a dog again. 😄

    Reply

Leave a Reply

