RSS Feed

Here a Chick, There a Chick

Posted on

Hatching day! We were expecting chicks to hatch today and delighted to come home last night and be told that chicks could already be heard.
UntitledAfter a day running outside periodically to stare at the hens hoping for little heads to peek through wings,  I’ve got pictures and I think things have worked out. As usually happens we had two broody hens both on the same nest. Because our chickens are ridiculous. At various points in the morning I saw the hens swapping places (front and back) and with different little heads poking out of wings. Hatching day!  Two confirmed chicks so far. They are precious!  It's two mothers on one nest,  they are sharing

Hatching day!  Two confirmed chicks so far. They are precious!  It's two mothers on one nest,  they are sharingBut on my latest visit to them I saw that they have apparently divided up the chicks and left the nest. Only 2 chicks have hatched, and there are about 10 eggs left behind in the nest. I always think our ladies have a very low hatching rate. In any case, the buffy is on the floor of the coop with a little fluffy white and silver chick.  This chick looks rather delicate and I do hope it survives. Mother and chick
The black hen (who, by the way, joined the broody game several days later than the buffy hen so totally got off easy without a full 21 day sitting) has relocated to the ground with the most darling little tan and reddish fluff ball. I do wonder how they made it to the ground. Did the chick just fall out the door (a 18-24″ drop)? or did it walk down the long ramp? Both seem difficult for a less than 24 hour chick.
Checking out the world
Fingers crossed they both survive!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

3 responses »

  1. Cute chicks!!! I love how you never know what they will look like!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

