RSS Feed

Down by the River

Posted on

Ahh…August. We’ve still got plenty of summer left, but we’ve been enjoying a few cool early mornings that give a hint of end-of-summer and looking-towards-autumn. It’s rather nice. This week we took Willow for her first time to the river.  Upon arrival she was pretty nervous and did not want to go in the water.
1st time in-not loving it But, after wildly running around on the banks and checking everything out, she did get her feet wet, and eventually was splashing around. Willow's 1st Trip to the river
Climbing on people when possible,
Like on land, she would just climb on top of usleaping about, and a couple of times going deep enough to dog paddle.  It’s shallow, but there is a current and she definitely didn’t like it when she could feel the water pushing on her. Willow's first time in the river!
It was a wonderful afternoon, except that I became irate and disgusted with people due to the litter left there. Specifically, when Willow ran into the bushes and came back with a poopy diaper. Seriously? Can’t all people agree that it’s not ok to leave trash outside? Who thinks that’s ok? If you think nature is nice enough that you wanted to spend time at the river, why would you leave garbage behind that you will be looking at next time you are there? Ugh. I really couldn’t stop thinking about this all week. You are an idiot and asshole if you leave garbage on the ground, Simple as that. Really-who are the people who think that is ok? OK, rant over. Despite that, it was very nice and we went with some friends and the kids enjoyed that. Tabby collected many snails and brought them home, where they are actually living in the habitat she created.
Tabby's snail habitat. She brought them all home.We also returned to Ringing Rocks for another hike. Again, she was super excited. This time we hiked down below the waterfalls (which have no water presently) and explored the dry riverbed.  I am fascinated by the rock formations and striations. Ringing Rock
As you know the garden is a bit of a pass this year, but yesterday I was delighted to pick several tomatoes and also…peaches from our tree!
A small harvest finally- plum tomatoes,  peaches,  and one cherry sized plum. A bounty of reds #garden #harvest #tomatoesThey are small but the sweetiest juiciest peaches ever. I think they are going to have a very short shelf life so am trying to figure out what to make with them today. Jam? Salsa? Peach barbecue sauce? I think freezing/canning/baking is in order.  I also received a nice bag of peaches and jalapenos from our friends who have trees that bear a lot of fruit. It was Game Night with them and we had a grand time. Game Night
It had been a while since the pizza had been homemade so I brought my A game and made several delicious ones, including one made with fresh mozzarella and the just picked tomatoes.
IMG_4065 Something Clark has been working on this summer is learning how to cook something. He’s been doing brownies and last night he made them almost all by himself ( he did everything, but I remained in the kitchen to talk him through it. Next time he’s entirely on his own) and they were delicious! Especially as he served them ala mode and capped off with another garden gift from Liz & Eleanor-homemade maraschino cherries (OMG-heavenly.) I have to share an amazing dessert that I made this week-Blueberry Sour Cream Tart. Sour Cream Blueberry Tart
I came across it in a cookbook I’ve had a couple years but haven’t often used (despite liking it), called Chicken and Egg. The tart has a crust that is like a sugar cookie, spiced with nutmeg. The filling is cheesecake consistency (but doesn’t taste at all like cheesecake) and then the blueberries are sprinkled on top.
Blueberry Sour Cream Tart. Oh my goodness, is this heavenly #blueberries #njblueberries #dessert #baking
This would also be amazing with strawberries or peaches. It was fantastic.

 

 

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

8 responses »

  1. Wow, that tart looks AMAZING. I super want to eat some! 🙂 Please forgive my terrible memory as you have probably mentioned this multiple times, but did you plant your peach tree? If so, do you know what variety it is? We’re getting ready to have some big old dangerous trees removed and I’d like to plant some fruit trees in their place eventually, so I’m curious to know more. 🙂

    Reply
    • Hi Anne, We did plant the peach tree, but I don’t know what kind it is. I’m afraid it might not even be a great specimen because I think Paul bought it someplace not great. We’ve had tried in the past without success, but this one seems to be doing well. I always regret not putting in fruit trees 5-10 years ago (as our friends did-and now they basically have an abundant orchard of apples and peaches) because just think where we’d be now! I think it’s a great idea to replace your dangerous trees with delicious fruit trees! I just checked with my friends and they get theirs from Trees of Antiquity. They also suggest Fedco.

      Reply
    • They also said some of their peach trees they got at a local nursery we like.

      Reply
  2. The river looks so inviting. How lucky you are to be able to swim in it. Our closest river is dirty brown and venomous snakes live there. Nothing better than a swim in a clean river on a hot summer’s day. Your food looks delicious.

    Reply
    • The thought of venomous snakes in a river is TERRIFYING!! Bill Bryson’s book about Australia basically put the cherry on top of convincing me I couldn’t live there because I’d be so afraid all the time of venomous snakes and spiders, etc. (though my online Australia contacts seem to have beautiful homes and live just fine and not be bitten by snakes, so there you go.)

      Reply
      • They can swim really well snakes and often are found around the rivers and creeks. Some like the desert. When I was young I nearly stepped on a snake between the rocks on the beach. I grew up in the country so snakes are a given. I am more afraid of white pointer sharks than anything. Despite these dangers , Australia is a fantastic holiday destination. I hope you get a chance to see our beautiful country one day.

Leave a Reply

