RSS Feed

My Last Day as a Stay at Home Mom

Posted on

I alluded to some changes coming up and here it is…I’ve got a job! I am super excited about it. After talking about going back to work for 2 years I kind of can’t believe it’s actually happening. I found a job, and not only that one that is so perfect in terms of making this transition easier for us. I will be the new school librarian at the upper elementary school in town. It’s Clark’s school! I’m really looking forward to getting back into a library and working with kids. I’m really looking forward to spending more time with my professional self again. I’m really looking forward to earning money. And I’m looking forward to wearing nice clothes every day. But there’s definitely some anxieties and worries that have been floating around.No matter how convenient the commute and hours are, it will be a change. I’ve been spending the past few weeks trying to prepare myself for that and mostly feeling happy anticipation. It’s weird feeling job anticipation with other people around-the last time I started a new job I was single. I have to admit, though, that today thinking “this is my last day as a stay at home mom” kind of got to me. I drove Tabby to school, which I sometimes have done this year to give us a little bonus time together, and knowing it was the last time made her, and consequently me, rather emotional.  That said, one of the things that has made this impending transition so much easier for us, has been the kids’ reactions. They are sincerely excited about it and happy for me. (Thank goodness Clark thinks it will be great to have me as his teacher and not just embarrassing.)

I am simultaneously taking a graduate level online course, so that’s some added stress. I think I’m going to have to work very hard to manage my time wisely to get everything done that I need to. Hey-this is totally going to cut into my tv viewing!
I’ve promised the kids I’ll still make nice dinners and bake for us. Tonight I’m making, for myself really, the comforting ham and cheese casserole of my childhood. A couple nights ago I made us a delicious pear tart for dessert, just because.  What else is on the docket for this last day? Lunch out with a couple of friends, finishing touches on Girl Scout meeting prep, picking kids and their friends up from school, and finishing touches on my own homework. And then laying out my first day of work outfit, gathering the things I want to bring with me the first day, and trying to get a good night’s sleep. And maybe one more walk with Willow, who will surely feel this change the most.

I am so grateful to have been able to stay at home with the kids for 10 (!) years. It has been wonderful for them, our family, and for me, too. I feel like I was able to explore all kinds of interests. I have loved being a stay at home mom, but in the past I have also really loved being a librarian, and I am really happy to get back to it. It is definitely the right time for me.  This is not a full on good-bye, because of course I’ll occasionally still post, but for now, wish me well and all the best to you, too!
Sarah

 

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

5 responses »

  1. Best of luck Sarah! Btw, you’ll have to change your ‘About Sarah’ paragraph and remove ‘former’ in reference to librarian 🙂

    Reply
    • I hadn’t thought of that! You’re right, I’ll get on that 🙂 and thank you, Toni!

      On Thu, Feb 4, 2016 at 10:45 AM, So what? Sew buttons! wrote:

      >

      Reply
  2. I’m so excited for you! I’m sure this will be a fabulous experience and believe it or not I feel like I appreciate the time with my kids more now that I’m working.

    Reply
  3. Congratulations! I’m so happy for you!

    Reply
  4. So very happy for you and so happy I got to see you @ work on your 1st day!! You are going to be a fantastic addition to our school system. Just wish I had more kids to send to you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

