RSS Feed

R.I.P. Nibbles

Posted on

Our dear Nibs unexpectedly died yesterday. I say unexpected, but the fact is he was no longer a robust fat pig, but had gotten rather thin and I suppose a little frail looking the past few days. He was 3 1/2. We saw Nibbles the day he was born and brought him and Blackie home a few weeks later-a 7th birthday present for Clark. (Actually, Blackie was the present for Clark and Nibbles came along too for Tabby.) I’ve always enjoyed having guinea pigs and Nibs was no exception. He was noisy and endearing and one of our favorite things to do was let him run around at night and watch him on his “twinkle toes.” Here he is with many friends:
Nibs and friends
Nibbles and Blackie have been patient models for photographs and holiday dress-ups. His beautiful reddish coat made him very photogenic. Here he is in some of the many hats he wore:
Nibbles in Hats//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js
He recently enjoyed a little fame as he was featured on one the slides in my “get to know me” presentation at work. Everyone enjoyed seeing Nibbles in the card catalog drawer.#46 for 113 in 2013: A Pet 636.5392//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js
We’ll miss you Nibs-rest in peace.

And at the risk of having this be even more depressing…R.I.P. Big Silk.  Last week he met with a tragic accident. He was my favorite of our chickens and I have to admit, I was pretty upset over the loss of him. He was a beautiful and charming rooster. Perhaps there’s a yard somewhere “in the spirit world”, as Tabby says, where he is pecking in the grass, Nibbles is eating clover, and Pippin is hanging out with them.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. I’m very sorry to hear of Nibbles’ passing. I hope the kids are taking it ok.

    Reply
  2. RIP Nibbles and Big Silk 😦 I’m sorry for your losses.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

