RSS Feed

Concert Season

Posted on

After deeming 2015 the year of concerts it seemed we weren’t going to really do any this year. But then Pearl Jam announced their tour and blah blah blah-we’re on track to see even more this year. Since a lot of bands tour in the summer we’ve definitely got some clumping up of shows in these months, mostly a couple weeks ago when we went to three in one week. (I thought I’d be too old and exhausted, but I managed.) First up was Flight of the Conchords, who were hilarious. It was fun to see them in person, it was at the Mann Center (which was like a smaller nicer Garden State Arts Center, and has a lovely view of the city:
View of the Philly skyline//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js), and it was a neat experience as everyone was quiet during the songs so you could appreciate and laugh at the lyrics. The Mann Center is kind of a far drive, but we’ve decided it’s worth it for a pleasant evening and good time.

A few days later we went to see our favorite live band, Guster. We saw them twice last year. I wouldn’t even call them my favorite band, but at this point I’ve been to see them 5 times, which makes it seem like they are. We love their music, their tickets are relatively inexpensive, they play good venues, and they put on a consistently good show with a good audience. Why wouldn’t we keep going? LIVE//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.jsThis time the show was at the Fillmore in Philly, which I’ve declared my new favorite place. LIVE//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.jsThey played a ton of great stuff (though still not playing “Amsterdam”-come on!) and I finally bought a t-shirt.

Then two days later it was back to the Mann Center to see Barenaked Ladies. Another band we’ve seen as much as Guster. Again-lots of fun, consistent good time. They tour in the summer with two other bands and this year those bands were straight from the ’80s-OMD and Howard Jones. We missed the Howard Jones set (I didn’t care) and were rewarded by having Howard come out with BNL to play his one hit that I knew (“no one ever is to blame”). OMD transported me back to lying in my room listening to my Pretty in Pink cassette soundtrack on my pink cassette player when they played “If You Leave.” They sounded great and I was surprised by how much I liked them (and that I knew more than that one song.) Then BNL came out and despite being in a section of sitters, we danced and sang and had a great time. But I really wish they’d play “Alternative Girlfriend.” It was a good show and I love going out with Paul. Concertgoers//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

But what was the most surprising highlight of the whole night? The most unexpected? Having someone come up to me and say “Are you the woman who writes the Sew Buttons blog?” What? YES! So, Toni, it was so nice to meet you in person. After all of our we-go-to-the-same-places-in-NJ outings, it was so funny that we finally bumped into each other at a concert in Pennsylvania. Perhaps we’ll meet again!

 

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

2 responses »

  1. 😀 So I’m see this AFTER I wrote the comment on your Crayola post. What a hoot and I’m sorry I couldn’t remember your name right away. My brain was trying to connect your face with how I knew you! Eventually it all came together and I couldn’t let you pass without saying hi!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

