RSS Feed

Garden by Crayola

Posted on

Our vegetable garden is a bust (by design) this year, but the flowers have been going great. We refreshed the perennial areas, added a rosebush, and cleared out a weed bed next to the driveway and planted a single raspsberry bush and new grape vine. It’s been so dry that I hope my zinnias and cosmos and morning glories manage to grow (the only things planted from seed.) Two things I’ve noticed that have really thrived and spread (all on their own!) are my coneflowers and columbine.
With the exception of the peonies (of course) I haven’t been so into photographing my garden with my good camera this season. However, I’ve been snapping pics with the phone, and even doing a little photo project. One day I looked around and thought, “Everything is so colorful! It looks like someone drew and colored my garden.” So, I bought a new box of Crayola-the 64 colors size- and have been matching the crayons to the petals. The flowers have all been so vibrant and colorful this year and it’s been fun to see which color matches (and which flowers don’t seem to have a match. I’ve been posting on Instagram (which I used to curse as a scourge, and now totally post to all the time) and here is a big collage of most of them so far:

mosaic 64 colors I haven’t done any greens yet-none seem to match my beautiful hosta leaves. But then, while checking out the tiger lilies, a bright green insect crawled around the flower and then onto me, and I matched him to “yellow green.”
Little Buggy=Yellow Green

 

//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

 

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

One response »

  1. This is a clever idea! You might have to start a 64 color challenge!

    What a surprise to meet you at the concert the other night. 🙂 I hope you had a great time; we had a blast dancing in that wide aisle behind the red seats. I sure do love BNL!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

