RSS Feed

Autumn Happenings, Pt 1

Posted on

Happy Birthday, Tabby! Say, what? But it’s December 30. Yeah, that’s right. I’m writing backwards to do a couple of posts about events and things I would normally  have written about. And as much as I’d like to say, “aww, I’ll skip it, who cares?” I’m not. Because I care. I can’t tell you how many times over the past 8 years I’ve wanted to remember something I sewed, or cooked, or planned for an event, and I’ve been able to search my own online diary and had a wonderful sentimental time remembering it. So yes, better later than never!img_7450

This fall seemed to fly by incredibly quickly. It turned out to be a bigger adjustment for me personally than the adjustment in February of going back to work. Because it seems that I really really loved autumn when I was a stay at home mom. Taking the dog for long regular daily walks, enjoying photography as the world around me changed colors daily, baking at the best time of year with autumn spices and flavors, apple picking and canning, and putting the garden to bed. I loved all that and really, really missed it this year. This fall seemed to be mostly going to work, working on my horrible class that I had to take, for the first half of fall it was soccer and field hockey practices and games for Tabby, a return to regular Scout meetings for everyone, plus a return to 4H meetings for Tabby. It was a lot going on. That said, it wasn’t horrible. My photography fizzled to just phone pictures and Instagram, but hey there were still great pictures! (and yes, some are sideways, but I can’t be bothered to find the original, edit, save, and then redo the mosaic.)collageautumn16

And while we didn’t go apple picking, we made sure to go to our annual “How Tall This Fall” farm spot.2016-10-30-16-20-28

And no, we didn’t go pumpkin picking, but so what? We still loved carving the ones we got at ShopRite.2016-10-30-18-44-26

And of course, we had a wonderful birthday celebration for Tabby. This year she decided to go with a Halloween theme and we put together a great party. Paul and Clark were off on a Boy Scout camping trip (there were a lot this fall, including an amazing sounding trip to Harpers Ferry WV) so that left it to me and Mary Lynn to be the party hostesses. img_7465We planned Twister, eating donuts off a string, freeze dance, a craft, and a movie  (because we foolishly set the party length astonishingly loooooong.) There were also tacos (because Tabby, like her mom, likes to be different and not offer the same old pizza), “mummy wraps” (pigs in blankets) and a beautiful (and easy to decorate) cake.

2016-10-22-14-36-31

Her actual birthday was two days prior and we celebrated as usual at home, with a special breakfast (albeit a bit hasty this year), and a nice dinner of the birthday girl’s choice (macaroni & cheese, just like last year) that night. The cake was one I’ve done for both Paul and Clark’s birthdays in the past-a cookies and cream cake, which is so light and heavenly.

 

 

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

