RSS Feed

A Petition for more Sundays in January

Posted on

Wouldn’t it be nice if there could be more Sundays in January? More glorious afternoons with that incredibly bright sunshine reflecting off the white snow? Perfect light for working on sewing, perfect light for feeling happy and relaxed and cozy. Or perhaps I would just like the hours between 12 and 3 to somehow actually be 5 hours long.White Snow Bright SnowAhhh, well. At least this past Sunday was like that.  After how much I enjoyed my year end posts and look back at 2016, I resolved to get back to writing a bit more often here. I do like to start the year thinking of some resolutions and I do have a few in mind this year. I acknowledged when I started my job last year (almost a year ago!) that I would probably need to cut way back on, if not give up, several of my hobbies. That did prove to be true. But it also proved to be unnecessary. I found that I really, really, really missed my creative outlets. So, I have resolved to spend less time on Facebook, which is not very rewarding, and more time back on Flickr, which is. To take out my regular camera on the weekends and take some photos of things I like (even if I’ve taken them every season for the past several years.) Saturday it snowed and was dreary and cold all day long. It made for the coziest of evenings, including making homemade hot pretzels and of course watching a movie. Sunday the clouds cleared, the snow stopped, the temperature plummeted and it was a proper winter day. Hello Winter!Also resolved, without specifying any projects (even though I’d dearly love to do a seasonal mini quilt series to hang in the kitchen), I am resolving to regularly work on sewing/quilting/embroidery projects.

With that in mind one of the things I did on that perfect January Sunday was buckle down, finish tying all the knots on the Christmas quilt, cut and apply the binding. Now all that’s left to do is the hand stitching on the back (which I actually like doing) and a cute applique with my signature (it’s going to be a Christmas tree.) Sweetie grants her approval of this plan.Wave hello

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

Leave a Reply

