Mrs. Claus, take 2

Posted on

I really liked making Santa and Mrs. Claus for myself and was very keen on making them again and trying out some other color combos. I specifically was interested to see a coral and aqua (seafoam green?) combo. Very Miama Vice. or, as I kept referring to her as I was making her, Boca Raton Mrs. Claus. I imagined her enjoying shopping and luxury items, which is reflected in her fully blinged out ensemble. This is the first time I didn’t use the sulky transfer stuff, but instead just used freezer paper to trace my pieces and then used my dissolving marker to make some marks where the embroidery would go.

Her skirt is coral and has turquoise stitching on it with apricot colored sequins.For her coat I used some pinkish thread, but also metallic blue thread and some blue sequins. Although I hadn’t planned on that-the blue isn’t turquoise at all-I really liked the dark blue and how it looked against the felt.

There are both clear and gold seed beads scattered throughout. Her boots have gold sequins on them. I made her body top be the same color as her skirt so it would seem like she’s wearing a dress under the coat. Her belt is made with metallic gold felt. I opted not to stitch on it because a big gold belt with a giant gold buckle (sequin) is a chic statement piece for her. I basically love her whole outfit.

Of course it’s her little accessories that are so fun to make. She carries a gift and a mistletoe ball. Her gift is made from the same metallic gold felt so it looks like she used very fancy wrapping paper. It has an ivory ribbon and a little gift tag. I’m going to be giving this is a gift so I put the recipient’s name on the tag (and thus, blurred it out here.)
Her mistletoe ball is exactly the same as I made for my Mrs. Claus, except I used a coral ribbon.

I think she is sparkly and spectacular and was lots of fun to make. I will be making a Santa to go with her.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.