Springtime at my mother’s

Posted on

My brother and his kids are visiting this week so we were all hanging out at my mother’s yesterday afternoon. The weather was beautiful and the kids went right to playing in the wooded area and the brook, which sparkled and was just lovely.  It’s a very pretty yard and it was nice to see what was coming up there that was different than at my house.

In little wooded area a carpet of moss was bright green. Up close it looks like a little secret world. In fact, the whole yard seems like it is home to fairies!

0251

027

These little yellow flowers were new to me, mom says they are dogtooth violets:

0481

046

But best of all…..ferns just beginning to unfurl:

054

056

(I’m so in love with the above picture that I think I will have an enlarged print made and matte it and frame it and hang it in my bedroom!)

We also had fun in and around the dollhouse, which was built by my grandfather for my mother and her sisters when they were little.  My brothers and I played in it when it was at our house, and now my the grandchildren play in it.

079

081

Would you believe that in the evening we had a big thunder and lightning storm that turned into a hailstorm? Huge pellets of hail loudly battering the house! Just went outside and it looks like the flowers and plants are fine. By the way, the beautiful tulips we had this year around the mailbox were all eaten by deer. BOOOOOOOO!

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

5 responses »

  1. Ferns are such strange plants, aren’t they? Beautiful pictures — I especially love the ones of you guys on the playhouse!

    Reply
  2. The dollhouse is awesome! great playhouse with great family history. I love that!
    I’ve never heard of dogtooth violets either. I think I’m hitting google next.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: April 25 At Maple Hoo: A Morning In Pictures « IPB Living

  4. Margaret Simpson

    I loved this post Sarah. I remember the doll house as so much bigger. I could actually walk in the door without stooping.

    Reply
  5. It’s funny you should say that about remembering the doll house as bigger because I got a broom and swept it out and wacked my head several times in doing so. I also kept thinking “I thought this was bigger?” It made me so happy to think about three generations of people playing in it. I have happy memories of reading in there and putting little treasures on the shelves. In fact, Will was making a “collection” and putting them on the shelves!

    Reply

Leave a comment