Weekend in the City Jewelry Roll

Posted on

[Note: I’ve been getting a lot of traffic to this post ever since AllFreeSewing.com linked to it. Just want to let you know that this is a post I did about making this jewelry roll from the book One Yard Wonders. I don’t have the pattern here. You could probably make it up based on my photos, or hit your library or bookstore and get a hold of the book. It has tons of great projects in it. Thanks for stopping by.

You’re looking forward to a weekend getaway in the City (I leave it up to you which city) and need to pack up all your different accessories.  Tuck them into the pockets of this fetching and modern looking jewelry roll and you’ll be all set.

I think this is my favorite one yet! I bought this fabric from an online retailer last year (though it is really fabric from Ikea) and was going to make a top out of it.  Unfortunately, I cut the main piece I needed upside down (the fabric is directional) and couldn’t use it for the top.  No matter, though, because I love how it looks with black and white ribbons, green lining, my black made-by-me tag, and black zippers.

For the ring keeper part of the roll sometimes I use ribbons that you tie, and sometimes something that snaps in place. I’ve tried sewing the snap on ribbon (not so successful) and then on fabric (much better.) I often have a hard time when sewing of thinking of the order of steps (i.e., sew on your tag at the very beginning), but this time I planned ahead.  I pressed the strip of fabric, sewed on the snap, then sewed the seam on the strap so that the stitching for the snaps was hidden by the time it was all assembled.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

17 responses »

  1. Very pretty on all counts! And the kitty is adorable… black and orange or black and white?

    Reply
  2. Hi,

    I’ve linked to this project on AllFreeSewing.com. I think it’s a great project our readers will love to make. Here’s the link:

    http://www.allfreesewing.com/Miscellaneous-Projects/Weekend-in-the-City-Jewelry-Roll

    If you have any questions or would like to see more of your projects on the site, please feel free to contact me.

    Thanks!

    Kirsten
    Editor
    AllFreeSewing.com

    Reply
  3. I love the Jelly roll and I have a black kitty with a little white on her chest who does the same thing. How do you get all the black hair of the ironing board LOL

    Reply
  4. It’s lovely! Are there actual instructions I am missing? Was linked from All Free Sewing.

    Reply
    • Hello and thank you! It was a fun surprise for me that All Free Sewing linked here, but I don’t have actual instructions listed. The pattern is from the book One Yard Wonders, which if you don’t want to buy you could probably get at your library. It’s quite simple and you could probably do it without the pattern, just knowing that it’s got two pockets-so you make the pockets with the zippers and the top pieces and then at the end you sew the big back on, right sides together, and turn inside out.

      Reply
  5. Terry Hernandez

    Sarah,

    I’d just love to make your jewelry roll. Where can I find the pattern?

    Terry

    Reply
  6. Barbara Burrus

    Looking for the “pattern”. Where is the link for the pattern tutorial? It’s very nice and I want to make one.

    Thank you,
    Barbara

    Reply
  7. Your jewerly roll is cool but AllFreeSewing should not have included it without instructions. That part was not cool at all.

    Reply
    • thanks, Sharon. I actually did not even know AllFreeSewing included my blog until people started stopping by. It is a fun and easy project, though, so I hope you’re inspired to check out the book or make your own pattern for it.

      Reply
  8. Love this idea….will be making one for my daughter in law (who travels sometimes for her job) and also for her sister (for the same reason). And I too have 2 cats who like to “help” me sew!! Sometimes they use themselves as pattern weights when I am cutting things out! Have learned to be careful when they do…..usually end up having to move them…lol But I love their company! Keep making easy, simple, quick projects for us!

    Reply
  9. I saw this on Allfree sew and Made a pattern according to how you had put it together. I actually made several as Bridesmaide gifts for my daughters wedding party. She loves them. I can hardly wait to see how the girls like them.

    Reply
  10. Is that an actual heart on her little head?? so cute. My little girl is coal black. no white anywhere.

    Reply
    • Nope, not a heart, just a little bit of tan. Would you believe I never noticed before how heart like it is in that photo?

      Reply

Leave a comment