Sconefest (and a poll!)

Posted on

We had friends over for brunch today and the menu was sweet and savory scones. I made pumpkin scones, as well as cheddar and ham scones.  They were both delicious. After I made the pumpkin scones I wished I had put crystallized ginger into them, so I chopped some up and stirred it into a glaze I drizzled over. It was the perfect addition.  Our friends brought the most fantastic bacon ever-it had been cooked with brown sugar and chopped pecans on top of it.  Talk about the perfect sweet and salty. Holy cow.

Definitely not a healthy eating weekend because last night we had another family over for dinner and I made the final recipe I needed to photograph for the family cookbook-my grandmother’s baked chicken.  I think “baked chicken” is a pretty unassuming title for a dish that is so full of flavor (and fat) that it is not to be believed.  The chicken marinates overnight and all day in a mixture of sour cream, lemon juice, Worcesteshire sauce, paprika, celery salt, and garlic.  Then you roll it in breadcrumbs, pour melted butter over the top and bake.  The sauce is just amazing.

I’ve been ordering a lot of fabric this week in preparation for making many aprons.  I also decided that if I am to sell these items I clearly need a name for my “business”, but what should it be? I love taking polls and always wanted to have one on my site, so I figured out how to do it (easy, thank you WordPress), and I hope if you’re reading this you’ll take the poll.  And if you don’t like any of the names, but have a better suggestion, please do leave it in the comments.

Tabby wore the apple jumper today and it looked very cute on her, though I think it is now too long.  I need to remember that when I think something is too short on her she is a small person and so adding three extra inches is actually quite a lot.

About Sarah

I'm a librarian living with my lovely family in a gorgeous spot of New Jersey, where we raise chickens and love the outdoors. I try to find enough time to indulge all my hobbies-cooking, photography, gardening, sewing, and I write about it all on my book blog & personal blog.

4 responses »

  1. Wow, delicious photos! That bacon sounded (and looked) absolutely decadent.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Apple Picking! « So what? Sew buttons!

  3. I like Cornish Kitchen the best, but since you are making things other than aprons (and no food) maybe it’s too specific. How about Home and Away (since you also make travel things like jewelry rolls, change purses, tote bags…)?

    Reply
    • Nancy, you’re the best! That is a super suggestion. My mom had the same comment about Cornish Kitchen. I really like Home and Away.

      Reply

Leave a comment